The ABC Book Challenge—W

ABC Blocks

I saw this wonderful challenge on Becky’s Book Blog! and I couldn’t resist giving it a go for myself. I’m not sure where the challenge originated, but if anyone knows, please contact me at Goodreads so I can give credit!

The challenge is basically to make a post for a different letter of the alphabet every week, discussing what books I’ve read, have been memorable, or I am looking forward to. Pretty simple stuff, but sounds like fun!

Letters WEB (www) 3

Favourite Books I’ve Read

Wild Swans: Three Daughters of ChinaWake of Vultures (The Shadow, #1)We Have Always Lived in the CastleWar Horse (War Horse, #1)War and Peace

Wild Swans by Jung Chang

This is an absolutely phenomenal book. It’s a true story that follows the memoirs of three generations of women through China’s recent history. The grandmother had her feet bound, the mother was a member of the Red Army, and the daughter—the author—tells her own life story too, in startling and wonderful detail. This is not a book that should be missed.

If you’ve even had any interest in history, or China, you cannot afford to miss this book!

It’s got to be an astounding 10/10!

Wake of Vultures by Lila Bowen

What happens when you mix young adult fantasy with a real kick-ass western. The main character is both black and gender confused, so it’s a very modern story set in a very old-fashioned setting. That, coupled with the fact that there are some amazing monsters to face in the story makes for a really fun read!

If you’ve ever read The Dark Tower by Stephen King, this is like a young adult version.

I adored this book with a passion—10/10.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

Just a novella really, but this story packs a punch. It’s about a girl and her sister who live basically alone in a big rundown mansion after the rest of their family mysterious died around the breakfast table. Most of the town folks call the girls witches and there is some bullying featured. The story is told from the younger sisters perspective.

Pass the sugar along, would you, dear?

This was a wonderful read and I enjoyed it from start to finish. 10/10.

War Horse by Michael Morpurgo

This stunning book is told from the perspective of the horse, which really makes it a unique book centered around the war. The horse talks about his love for his master, his confusion and terror on the battlefield, and his sorrow as his fellow horses die by the dozen. It’s such an emotional book.

If this book doesn’t reduce you to tears, we can’t be friends anymore.

This deserves nothing less than 9/10.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

If you’re thinking that I’m just showing off by including War and Peace here, you’re darn tootin’! This book took me a month to read, and I’m not going to lie, some of it is boring, and some of it is mindbogglingly difficult to slog through, but there are some real gems in this book too, and when I finally got into the story, I loved it.

My beautiful cinnamon roll Pierre is the best character in the world!

8/10. If you manage to read this book, it does come with bragging rights, though!

Books I’m Looking Forward to Reading

Watching You Wicked Children: Murderous Tales from History Weaveworld Witch's Reign (Desert Cursed, #1) Without a WordWicked Saints (Something Dark and Holy, #1) Wool (Wool, #1) Wintersong (Wintersong, #1) Watching Edie We Set the Dark on Fire (We Set the Dark on Fire, #1)We Rule the Night Warrior of the Wild Wicked Like a Wildfire (Hibiscus Daughter, #1) Wilder Girls Windwitch (The Witchlands, #2)

Well, there’s my W list! I hope you see a few books that might interest you, and if you’ve read any of the ones I’m looking forward to, let me know you thoughts here, but no spoilers, please!

Happy Reading,

Claire

Author: Claire

Hello, everyone! My name is Claire and, probably much like yourself, I'm an avid reader. I don't know about you, but I always end up finding the villain to be the most interesting and absorbing character in most books. Who can forget Captain Hook or Tom Riddle? How many of us would love to meet the Wicked Witch of the West? Or invite Hannibal Lecter over for dinner and a nice Chianti? I wanted to name my book blog something suitable and thus Love the Villain was born! I hope you enjoy reading through my book reviews and things, and don't hesitate to get in touch!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.