The ABC Book Challenge—S

ABC Blocks

I saw this wonderful challenge on Becky’s Book Blog! and I couldn’t resist giving it a go for myself. I’m not sure where the challenge originated, but if anyone knows, please contact me at Goodreads so I can give credit!

The challenge is basically to make a post for a different letter of the alphabet every week, discussing what books I’ve read, have been memorable, or I am looking forward to. Pretty simple stuff, but sounds like fun!

letterset_0 4

Favourite Books I’ve Read

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan Saga, Vol. 1Ship of Magic (Liveship Traders, #1)Senlin Ascends (The Books of Babel, #1)Sojourn: The Wildlands (Rayn Mirago Saga #1)

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See

I absolutely loved this book. It tells the tale of two women surviving a China of the past, complete with all the strict rules and traditions they had to adhere to. It’s so thoroughly researched that you almost feel as though you’ve traveled through time. These books are equal parts story and historical reference, enabling you to learn as you enjoy the book.

Lisa See is just an amazing author. If you haven’t read her yet, you’re missing a treat.

One of the easiest 10/10‘s I’ve ever given.

Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan

This is a graphic novel series that I’ve just started getting into. In a word—it’s brilliant! I’ve never been much of a graphic novel person, but this year I decided to give a few that I’ve heard amazing things about a go. I’m so glad I did, because this series is astounding. The artwork is beautiful and detailed, and the storyline is just perfect!

I’ve only read the first two so far, but I’m immensely looking forward to the rest.

Easy peasy 10/10.

Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb

What an epic book this was. It’s huge for a start, standing in at 897 pages. But, oh god, the story! There’s just so much going on in this book, from the main character who runs away to sea to prove she can cut it aboard ship, to the sentient ships themselves and the stories they can tell. It’s an incredible world that’s been build here, and if you love high-fantasy, this is a real treat.

It’s kind of like A Game of Thrones, but with more magic and less politics.

Another easy 10/10.

Senlin Ascends by Josiah Bancroft

This was a complete surprise! It’s was just a fun, little Indie book that I picked up randomly for something to read, and it completely blew me away! This is a story about a school teacher called Thomas, who is trying to find his new young wife in the humongous tower of Babel. Each floor of this tower is different, and it’s so fantastical!

This is possibly the very first steampunk novel I’ve completely enjoyed!

A totally surprising 10/10!

Sojourn: The Wildlands by B.D. Messick

This is another book that hasn’t received enough hype for how good it is. This is a young adult book that follows a girl called Rayn as she’s supposed to make a journey from one enclave to another in a dystopic world. It’s a brilliantly written adventure, with unique monsters and a simmering love interest.

I’ve read this entire series with enjoyment, and was lucky enough to be in touch with the author through most of the process!

Another stunning 10/10!

Books I’m Looking Forward to Reading

Sawkill Girls Semiosis (Semiosis Duology, #1) Seafire (Seafire, #1) Suicide Club Sleeping Giants (Themis Files, #1)Sherwood Sky in the Deep Sea Witch (Sea Witch, #1) Stain Sadie Spinning Silver Shadow of the Fox (Shadow of the Fox, #1) Shades of Magic Vol. 1: The Steel Prince Strange Weather Stepsister

Well, there’s my S list! I hope you see a few books that might interest you, and if you’ve read any of the ones I’m looking forward to, let me know you thoughts here, but no spoilers, please!

Happy Reading,

Claire

Author: Claire

Hello, everyone! My name is Claire and, probably much like yourself, I'm an avid reader. I don't know about you, but I always end up finding the villain to be the most interesting and absorbing character in most books. Who can forget Captain Hook or Tom Riddle? How many of us would love to meet the Wicked Witch of the West? Or invite Hannibal Lecter over for dinner and a nice Chianti? I wanted to name my book blog something suitable and thus Love the Villain was born! I hope you enjoy reading through my book reviews and things, and don't hesitate to get in touch!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.