The ABC Book Challenge—M

ABC Blocks

I saw this wonderful challenge on Becky’s Book Blog! and I couldn’t resist giving it a go for myself. I’m not sure where the challenge originated, but if anyone knows, please contact me at Goodreads so I can give credit!

The challenge is basically to make a post for a different letter of the alphabet every week, discussing what books I’ve read, have been memorable, or I am looking forward to. Pretty simple stuff, but sounds like fun!

Baby Block Series 13

Favourite Books I’ve Read

Muse of Nightmares (Strange the Dreamer, #2)My Sister the Moon (Ivory Carver, #2)MockingjayMemoirs of a GeishaMetro 2033 (Metro, #1)

Muse of Nightmares by Laini Taylor

I love Laini Taylor. I absolutely love her. This a woman who was born to write. Her stories are just so lyrical and beautiful; you can fall in love reading her books. Muse of Nightmares is the sequel to Strange the Dreamer, and both books should be super high on your TBR list if you haven’t already!

Out of the amazing cast of characters, I have to admit that Thyon was my favourite!

Nothing less than 10/10 will do!

My Sister the Moon by Sue Harrison

This is one of those battered paperback copies that was handed down to me from my mother and started a love of a whole new genre for me. This is a prehistorical fiction, in a similar vein to Clan of the Cave Bear. It follows a girl called Kiin through her life, and it’s amazing!

Although it’s the second in a series, it works well as a standalone book, too.

A prehistoric 10/10!

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

The final book in the Hunger Games series, this book follows Katniss as the revolution comes to its conclusion. It’s not quite as great as the former two books, but it certainly wraps everything up nicely. It’s a good conclusion to a fantastic series.

If that ending doesn’t bring a tear to your eye, you’re made of tougher stuff than me!

Gotta be an 8/10.

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

See, now the thing about this book is that I absolutely love it all the way through—I mean it’s a 10/10 book—but the last 70 or so pages, the ending basically, ruin the whole thing for me. I feel like she made some seriously wrong choices at the end there, but I guess that’s just my point of view.

If you like books like this, you should check out Liza Dalby.

7/10 because the ending ruins it for me.

Metro 2033 by Dmitri Glukhovsky

This book is a post-apocalyptic sci-fi story that was originally written in Russian. You can certainly tell this is a Russian book, too. It’s dark, with a hugely imaginative society based in the tunnels of an old railway system. There are some seriously spooky bits, as well as a great main character.

I’m currently learning Russian, so I may be a bit biased towards Russian literature.

Ochen khorosho 7/10.

Books I’m Looking Forward to Reading

Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet Mother, Mother Mortal Engines (The Hungry City Chronicles, #1) Mata Hari The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #1)  Monstress, Vol. 1: Awakening (Monstress, #1)

Well, there’s my M list! I hope you see a few books that might interest you, and if you’ve read any of the ones I’m looking forward to, let me know you thoughts here, but no spoilers, please!

Happy Reading,

Claire

Author: Claire

Hello, everyone! My name is Claire and, probably much like yourself, I'm an avid reader. I don't know about you, but I always end up finding the villain to be the most interesting and absorbing character in most books. Who can forget Captain Hook or Tom Riddle? How many of us would love to meet the Wicked Witch of the West? Or invite Hannibal Lecter over for dinner and a nice Chianti? I wanted to name my book blog something suitable and thus Love the Villain was born! I hope you enjoy reading through my book reviews and things, and don't hesitate to get in touch!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.