The ABC Book Challenge—E

ABC Blocks

I saw this wonderful challenge on Becky’s Book Blog! and I couldn’t resist giving it a go for myself. I’m not sure where the challenge originated, but if anyone knows, please contact me at Goodreads so I can give credit!

The challenge is basically to make a post for a different letter of the alphabet every week, discussing what books I’ve read, have been memorable, or I am looking forward to. Pretty simple stuff, but sounds like fun!

printed letter E

Favourite Books I’ve Read

Everything's EventualEmpress Orchid (Empress Orchid, #1)Earth, Air, Fire and Custard (J. W. Wells & Co., #3)Empress of All SeasonsEverything You Told Me

Everything’s Eventual by Stephen King

Stephen King is one of my all time favourite authors, and his short stories are often imaginative and horrifying. This particular book is a favourite of mine for the titular story, which is a tie-in with the Dark Tower world. I also love The Little Sisters of Eluria for the same reason.

I think the only collection of King’s short stories I like more is Skeleton Crew.

Absolutely, 10/10 for this collection.

Empress Orchid by Anchee Min

I love books that are set in China, and this particular book about a girl who enters the Forbidden Palace as a young girl and gradually rises through the ranks to become Empress Cixi. It’s a wonderful piece of historical fiction and I highly recommend the entire series to anyone with an interest in history, China or women through the ages.

After Empress Wu, Empress Cixi is my favourite historical woman.

This beautifully researched masterpiece gets 10/10!

Earth, Air, Fire and Custard by Tom Holt

This is the third book in the J. W. Wells and Co. series of books which begins with The Portable Door. This series follows an ordinary guy called Paul as he applies for a job that he doesn’t realize is magical. He slowly finds out more about the company and himself as the books progress.

Tom Holt is one of the funniest writers I’ve ever read, and this book is no exception.

How could I give this anything less than 10/10?

Empress of All Seasons by Emiko Jean

This is a young adult fantasy book that follows a girl called Mari as she enters the competition to become Empress. Mari is a yōkai, and is tasked with stealing all the palace’s gold from her new husband to be. Unfortunately, yōkai are not allowed anywhere near the palace and the punishment is death.

This particular copy is the Illumicrate exclusive edition!

I enjoyed this 6/10.

Everything You Told Me by Lucy Dawson

Really struggling to find more books beginning with “E” here. I didn’t actually enjoy this book all that much, but it deserves an honorable mention. Basically, the story is a decent one, but the narrator is completely unreliable, bordering on unhinged, and that’s not how it’s supposed to be either!

My review for this book covers all the things I didn’t like.

A measly 3/10.

Books I’m Looking Forward to Reading

Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle, #1)  Everless (Everless, #1) Empire of Sand (The Books of Ambha, #1)  Enemy: A Dark Fantasy Novel  Extinction Point (Extinction Point, #1)  Echo North  Ender's Game (Ender's Saga, #1)    Enchantée  Elevation  End of Watch (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #3)

Well, there’s my E list! I hope you see a few books that might interest you, and if you’ve read any of the ones I’m looking forward to, let me know you thoughts here, but no spoilers, please!

Happy Reading,

Claire

Author: Claire

Hello, everyone! My name is Claire and, probably much like yourself, I'm an avid reader. I don't know about you, but I always end up finding the villain to be the most interesting and absorbing character in most books. Who can forget Captain Hook or Tom Riddle? How many of us would love to meet the Wicked Witch of the West? Or invite Hannibal Lecter over for dinner and a nice Chianti? I wanted to name my book blog something suitable and thus Love the Villain was born! I hope you enjoy reading through my book reviews and things, and don't hesitate to get in touch!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.